rainbow-falls.jpg

Reviews

Our Trip Advisor has 132 Excellent Reviews

Here are some of our recent reviews


“Wonderful and memorable experience!!”

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends

I have friends and co-worker who have stayed and recommended this lodge and that's how I found out about Las Cascadas. So I spent my Easter weekend with two of my girlfriends and our expectations were exceeded. Ryan is very responsive to all my e-mails and Chef Olvin and his staff were great and all the foods are delicioso! I fell in love at this lodge as the waterfalls view and sound from my bed is surreal! Its like a pc screensaver but non-stop and real! ☺ I definitely recommend the adrenaline package which includes water rafting, canyoning and water fall descents and hiking at pico bonito national park. It was my first time trying them and I will do it again as it was so much fun. Words are not enough to express our wonderful experience at this lodge. We will definitely come back and recommend this to everyone. Thanks again to Ryan, Chef Olvin, Mayra, Ilsa, Mey and Don Merlo for taking care of us. You guys are awesome!! Mucho Gracias! -Josie

“Adventure, relaxation and and incredible experience”

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple

I was completely blown away by Las Cascades Lodge. Easy access from the airport ( only an hour twenty flight from Grand Cayman). If you are looking for the perfect blend of an authentic jungle experience and luxury this is the place to go. From start to finish Ryan and his team did anything and everything needed to make our 2017 Easter weekend a truly memorable one. The lodge only has three rooms and can sleep 10 people. You cannot help but feel like a VIP. Meals are made for each guest by Chef Olvin. His passion for food and his guests is astounding. If you want to relax with a book by the waterfall you can, or if you are looking for a little adventure there is something for everyone. You are able to do some hiking on th property or if you are feeling a little more adventurous head to Omega Lodge where they have an array of activities. Ryan arranged white river rafting for us at Omega, all transport was arranged and we had nothing to worry about. The rafting was incredible but only a taste of what was still to come. Our second day we had booked Waterfall descending ( Done at Las Cascades). I am very scared of heights and honestly was not looking forward to the experience. The thought of hanging off a waterfall rock face did not appeal to me at all, but it was something my husband wanted to do and Ryan assured me we would take it slow and it would be fine. Chef Olvin is not only brilliant in the kitchen he is also a seasoned guide and joined us on the tour. From start to finish the waterfall descent was like a well oiled machine. Ryan and Olvin made sure we felt safe and comfortable and guided us throughout the entire process. There was one point where I thought no ways, I cannot do this. But it was too late to turn back. With Ryan and Olvin's guidance I made it down safe and sound in one piece just like they said I would. Even if you are not staying at Las Cascades I would recommend booking this tour. This is the perfect getaway if you are looking for some relaxation and adventure. Leave the hustle and bustle of everyday life behind you and appreciate nature in a truly unique way. Thank you for showing us the Honduran jungle. We will be back someday.
Room Tip: All rooms have views of the waterfall. We were in the Bejuco Cabin with an amazing outdoor shower an..

“Waterfall Rappelling ”

Stayed March 2017, traveled as a couple

We stayed up the road from Las Cascadas but did the waterfall rappelling with Ryan and Olvin. The property is absolutely gorgeous and I hear Olvin is one hell of a chef if you would like to stay. Either way, you've got to do the waterfalls. From beginning to end their team is amazing. We are quite adventurous and not scared of much but any little qualm was settled when we were shown their brand new equipment and given such clear instructions as to what we would do. They even take you on a practice waterfall out back in case you want to bail (but you won't). You then go on a very cool and insightful hike up to the top and start the journey down. It was so much fun and one of the prettiest views I've seen. I really thought it was cool that they said they've had everyone from an 11 year old to an 80 year old do it. All you need is the will to go for it and they will instruct you every step of the way. Ryan is super informative with facts and instructions as is Olvin who looked out for me on every potentially slippery rock along the way. They also bring rain jackets so you don't get cold and an incredible camera to take photos of you along the way. If you're in La Ceiba, seriously, don't miss this! It's one of the coolest things we've done! Thank you Ryan and Olvin!

“Second time over”

Stayed March 2017, traveled as a couple

Perfect place to hide from routine, stress and everyday mayhem! The entire staff at Las Cascadas lodge work hard on making you feel right at home! Starting from Ryan the manager all the way to Chispa the best Dog host ever! From arranging any outdoor activities to cooking your meal to your desire, simply perfect! And their Rappel tour is as exotic and thrilling as you can not imagine! The place is just hide between beautiful jungle settings, and the waterfalls snug you through the night. Perfect for couples but also for families. This was our second visit with my wife, and it was was as perfect (or even more) than last time. Highly recommended !!! Get lost for a moment !!

“Absolutely amazing ”

Stayed March 2017, traveled as a couple from Grand Cayman

Truly one of the most amazing holidays ever. Only an hour flight from grand cayman & it's like a different world. The lodge is set in the jungle & surrounded by waterfalls. It was stunning. There's various chairs, hammocks & loungers placed around the grounds and we spent a lot of time just sitting watching the waterfalls & jungle. From our super comfortable, massive bed we could see one of the waterfalls & the noise was just so relaxing. The landscaping in the grounds was brilliant. Little paths here and there. Lovely bright flowers. Everywhere you looked you were enchanted. The lodge itself was brilliant too. Great big bed. A day bed. Big comfy chairs. A big bath and a massive outdoor shower. They thought of everything. Lights everywhere. A safe for valuables. Robes & slippers. Fresh, clean towels. The whole place was so clean all the time- it was impressive. Olvin was a superstar. He cooked (along with Myra) our 3 meals a day. We didn't have 1 bad meal. Anything you asked for wasn't a problem. We ate & drank like kings. He also took us on a hike which was great. He was so confident & knowledgable it really made the hike a great experience. We were never hassled or pressured to do activities or buy anything. It was a very laid back place. Booking was so easy. Ryan always replied really quickly. We went just as a couple for our honeymoon and it was ideal. Very romantic. But we're also keen to go back with friends. We think it would be great lodge to go as a group too. There's chess & board games for the evenings & plenty of booze at the bar to enjoy. Absolutely fabulous- Hope to go back ASAP!!

“Truly Paradise”

Stayed March 2016, traveled with family from Toronto Canada

My family and I have traveled to some of the most beautiful places in the world. Jungles, beaches, dive resorts and mountain lodges. When we approached Las Cascades we were in disbelief at it's beauty. Looking in every direction at the flowers, landscape, butterflies and gorgeous lodge, we really couldn't get over how perfect it was. Inside we agreed it was the nicest room, and most gorgeous lodge we'd ever been in. We stayed for a few days and can't wait to return. The food and staff were great. We did a big hike and swam in the waterfalls. We're planning a return trip next Christmas break. Every room was gorgeous. We saw the others in the main lodge as our friends were there too. Our room was in a separate cabin.

“Incredible place!”

Stayed January 2017, traveled as a couple

What an amazing place! Luxurious accommodation surrounded by the most beautiful scenery. The staff were second to none. They made us feel so welcome and made our trip effortless. Extremely accommodating and friendly. We did the canyoning and the white water rafting which were both amazing experiences. The food was outstanding. We've been all around the world and this is now our favourite place. Perfect place to get away from it all. Great place to relax or have adventures or both. Great value too!

“Jungle Dream”

Stayed January 2017, traveled with friends from Washington DC

I recently (1/9/2017) stayed at Las Cascadas Lodge in Honduras with friends. It was a magical vacation. The waterfall was right outside my window and I fell asleep to the sounds or the falling water. So peaceful. I am type A and I have never been so relaxed. Ryan was our guide and the lodge manager. He is fantastic. He and the chef Olvin went out of their way to make our stay perfect. The food was always excellent and fresh and presentation delightful. There were no bugs just a beautiful hike and lots of waterfalls throughout the area. If you are looking for a jungle adventure vacation you should visit this place.

“A jungle paradise”

Stayed January 2017, traveled with friends

I stayed here for the first time in the beginning of 2017 and had the most amazing experience. I'm writing this review for all of the staff that worked so hard to make my stay a 5 star experience. First off, the grounds are beautifully maintained and the rooms all have waterfall views. The tours are also excellent, I absolutely loved canyoning down the lodge's private waterfalls as well as the other tours we did in the area. The food is also outstanding, Olvin prepares something different every meal and each one tastes better than the last. I was very sad to be leaving this place but I will definitely be returning soon.

“Paradise in the jungle”

Stayed January 2017, traveled with friends

My husband and I along with 2 friends spent 4 days at this beautiful lodge. As we arrived, we were greeted by part of the staff; Ryan the general manager, Olvin the Chef, and other staff (can't remember their names). They took our luggage and gave us our room keys. They took us on a grand tour of the main building where we would enjoy the most fabulous meals( I quickly discovered). Our room was incredible, there was an outside shower with two shower heads. The water pressure was fantastic. The bed was so comfortable, from our room you can hear the waterfall that runs through the resort. It is very relaxing. We signed up for a few excursions and were very pleased that Ryan was very familiar with the ins and outs of what we were to expect. Ryan has been the Manager here for 10 years. We took an outing in a jeep to see small villages, have lunch in the middle of a river, climb (easy) to a waterfall, enjoy the hot springs and experience a truly laid back relaxing day. When we arrived back at the Lodge, Olvin had prepared for us a wonderful lunch. I honestly can't figure out how this man hadn't been snatched up by the big hotels or restaurants. Olvin pays such attention to each detail that I would just watch him as he cooked. I seriously didn't want to leave. Breakfast each day consisted of a bowl of fresh fruit, followed by either the typical Honduran breakfast( eggs,cheese,beans,sausage,fresh handmade corn tortillas, Honduran coffee fresh squeezed juice, not to mention the fabulous hibiscus juice). If you didn't want this breakfast Olvin would prepare you anything you liked. Lunches and dinners were as incredible. Never did I feel that we were in any danger, this place has a 24 hour guard on duty with high walls. Ryan took us to La Cieba so that we could buy our plane tickets to fly to Roatan. He took to a safe grocery store, a fabulous shopping Mall. Never did I feel uncomfortable in the areas that we went to. One night we went to a great restaurant at the beach. The food was fresh and the owners (husband and wife expats from Germany) were so funny and made us feel like we were at home. This review is truly my heartfelt experience of spending time at Las Cascadas Lodge. I will be back next year. Thank you Ryan, Olvin and staff for everything Tom and Kathy Marsh.

“This place is heaven!”

Stayed January 2017, traveled as a couple

We stayed for two nights celebrating the new year 2017. Very romantic, excellent stuff, bar, restaurant, hiking, waterfalls, all that in the middle of the jungle (and you feel totally safe there of course )
All food is included. We are a vegan couple and we were not sure if we will have to eat just salads there, but the Olvin the chef made the best food for us! Our room was perfect, good smell, clean, beautiful shower and quite. We had a lot of fun, will come beck next year! we got the room with the shower for two under moon light! you can see the stars,its amazing .

“Incredible week in paradise!”

Stayed January 2017, traveled with friends

I stayed for a week at Las Cascadas and what a week it was! From white water rafting to horseback riding to snorkeling at Cayos Cochinos, it was certainly an adventure. The grounds were beautiful, perfect for relaxing by the pool and rappelling down the waterfalls. The rooms were clean and welcoming, and I always felt safe and cared for due to the incredible staff. Chef Olvin outdid himself - every meal was delicious and Instagram worthy. Ryan led the week with passion, friendliness, and a clear commitment to safety. I will definitely be coming back to this amazing place!

“When you want to disconnect and recharge, no better place”

Stayed November 2016, traveled as a couple

Place is absolutely spectacular with mesmerizing waterfall in your backyard, amazing food and great staff. Absolutely recommend the zip lining and rain forest hike to the large waterfall. The place is very safe and outside of La Ceiba. Unless you have tried similar trips before you will be presently surprised how awesome is to have a lunch in the rain forest in front of the waterfall or jump and have a swim... Olvin and Ryan are absolutely go out their way to make the stay as enjoyable as possible.

“Amazing lodge and fantastic activities”

Stayed November 2016, traveled with friends from the United Kingdom

We had the most amazing long weekend as Las Cascadas and I would recommend a stay here to anyone looking for good food, natural beauty, luxury, excitement, adventure and relaxation. This place really has it all. From first contact Ryan was exceptionally helpful in helping us to arrange our trip and activities via email. He collected the 8 of us from the airport and arranged for Olvin (the amazing chef) to provide snacks on our arrival before arranging for us to have a go at a local ziplining course. Upon return to the lodge we were treated to a delicious meal and, after enjoying some cocktails made from freshly squeeze local juice, we headed to our beautiful rooms. The next morning we rose to another wonderful breakfast which was needed for a action packed day of rafting and waterfall descents. The rafting with Omega tours was excellent and we enjoyed a hearty lunch following being out on the river. During the afternoon we started Ryan canyoning/waterfall descents that he offers with chef Olvin. On this day we were only able to do one waterfall due to the weather, but it was well worth it. Some members of our group wanted a more relaxing afternoon, so stayed at the lodge. With natural pools and beautiful surroundings, it is an easy place to enjoy a more sedate trip. Due to rain, those of us that had gone out, had to head back to the lodge where we enjoyed another delicious dinner. The following day our group split between horseback riding and mountain biking. Both activities were organised by Ryan and enjoyed by everyone. It was a great way to see Honduran villages, picturesque scenery and fascinating wildlife. On our final day, Ryan kindly took some of the group to complete the waterfall trip that was rained off. The trip is breathtaking and one of a kind. A mixture of adrenaline, spectacular scenery and nature. The trip is run and organised by Ryan (an expert in this field) with the support of Olvin. You cannot find a trip of this nature anywhere else. It is a must if you like adventure. In all this was one of the best trips I have ever been on. The lodge has everything for every kind of traveler. If you like luxury, the rooms and service are for you. If you like adventure, you will not be disappointed. If you like time to relax, where better to do it than next to a beautiful waterfall in the jungle.

“Paradise in the jungle”

Stayed October 2016, traveled with family from Honduras

Once again my experience at Las Cascadas Lodge exceeded my expectations. As always, Ryan and all the staff went out of the way to make sure our stay was perfect. It is like staying in your own vacation home with a private chef!!!! Ryan made the arrangements for all the local activities we wanted to experience, hiking and white water rafting. My favorite place in Honduras!

“relaxing or exciting, you decide”

Stayed August 2016, traveled solo from Grand Cayman

My wife and i recently stayed and Las Cascadas for a Monday-Friday getaway and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It was so relaxing swimming in the natural freshwater pools and sitting watching the wildlife, but if you are more of an action kind of person they have some amazing treks right there on the property with the chance to see even more wildlife, we saw Toucans :-) and the waterfall repelling with Ryan and Olvin is a must. My wife was very nervous about coming down the waterfalls but Olvin and Ryan were so patient with her that she thoroughly enjoyed herself and would have gone again if she could. Not only was Olvin part of the repelling team but the food he produced each day was amazing. We had one of the rooms in the main lodge overlooking the waterfall very relaxing to listen to as you fall asleep.


“Waterfall repelling”

Stayed August 2016, traveled with friends

I can't say enough about the professionalism and friendliness of the team at Las Cascadas Lodge. My friends and I repelled down the waterfalls and it was by far my favorite activity of my three weeks in Honduras. Even though at first it seems intimidating, Ryan explained everything so well and he uses top line equipment, which puts your mind at ease. He was extremely knowledgeable. I highly recommend this activity to anyone who has a free day in La Ceiba.

“Waterfall Descent with Ryan was adventurous, magical, relaxing, thrilling...... words can't actually express!!”

Stayed May 2016, traveled from Grand Cayman as a couple

If you love waterfalls and adventure then this is JUST the thing for you! My husband and I just celebrated our anniversary in beautiful Honduras in the Pico Bonito area! One of our highlights was this waterfall descent! I would recommend this to anyone who loves nature, adventure, and water! Ryan has a way of making you feel very safe too.... it takes me some time to build trust but I was so surprised how quick I felt at ease with Ryan and his team! I promise you'll love this... it's unlike ANYTHING i've ever done in my life!

“Gorgeous Retreat!”

Stayed April 2016, traveled from Santa Fe NM as a couple

We recently spent three days at the Las Cascadas Lodge and found a new favorite place!! Our cabin had a spectacular view of the lower falls and we never tired of hearing the soothing sounds of the water. Olvin and Ryan couldn't have been more helpful and professional. The food Olvin provided was fabulous!! Fresh, creative and delicious, always served with a smile! Ryan knows the area so well and is enthusiastic about providing any service from adventures to in town business. We will most definitely be back!!!! There are three rooms. Two are attached to the main building and the third is nearby, but stand alone. We loved the stand alone cabin.


“WATERFALL DESCENTS WITH RYAN”

Stayed March 2016, traveled from Reno NV with family

If you are in the Pico Bonito area and want an adventurous tour , a must do is the waterfall Descents tour with Ryan . Basically you rappel down the face of waterfalls into pristine pools that have been rarely seen by others . Ryan and his companion make sure you are safe and give great instruction along the way . Not for those that aren't adventurous and semi-coordinated , but if you are into a physically challenging and beautiful experience......don't hesitate and give him a call at the lodge . Great guides and a great experience !! Thanks Ryan!

“I had the time of my life.”

Stayed March 2016, traveled with friends from Chicago

Words can't really describe how incredible this trip was, though the reviews on here will get you close to understanding how wonderful Las Cascadas truly is. The lodge is luxurious and has a waterfall in the backyard. Not only is it beautiful to look at, and calming to fall asleep to, but you can repel down it. As amazing as the lodging, food, hospitality ect... is, the waterfall descent tour (canyoning) was quite easily one of the most beautiful, adventurous and enlivening things I have ever had the opportunity to do. I was there for a week, but there is so much to do in the valley I could have easily stayed for a month. Though the beauty of the rainforest and delights of living in jungle luxury are enough to make this trip worthwhile, the service delivered by Ryan made the trip perfect. He and his team are truly professional. Olvin made some of the most--if not the most--delicious food I have ever eaten. I can't wait to go back.

“Fab place, highly recommended ”

Stayed January 2016, traveled from Chicago with friends

This lodge is an amazing place, fab setting in the rainforest & lots of adventure activities to do close by at very reasonable prices. The rooms were huge & very clean & very good value for money. Ryan & Orvin were extremely helpful & friendly, couldn't have asked for better hosts. Also very accommodating with regards to flight cancellations which we experienced. Orvin cooked great meals for us & made sure he catered to our special requests e.g. vegetarian. Highly recommend this lodge!!
Do the waterfall descent/canyoning tour.
Stayed January 2016, traveled from Chicago with friends

“Retreat to Paradise!”

Stayed February 2016, traveled from Canada with friends

Las Cascadas is a paradise retreat. If you want to relax, rejuvenate and be pampered, this charming lodge is the place for you. In the company of a handful of guests, there is always a private space to read, play board games, swim, or just sit quietly and listen to one of the three waterfalls. Hike in 84 acres of private rainforest and enjoy healthy food and beverages prepared by Olvin, a local chef extraordinaire.
For the more adventurous, waterfall repelling is available on site and many other eco-adventure opportunities are available nearby. So whether your vacation vision is a retreat or an adventure, or a combination of both, the General Manager Ryan at Las Cascadas is eager and willing to help you make it happen. All rooms have excellent views of the waterfall and rainforest, and spacious seating areas.

“Amazing place!”

Stayed January 2016, traveled from Florida with family

I came here with my family for a short weekend get-away and some whitewater adventure. It was so beautiful and peaceful. I loved sleeping in the loft of the Bejuco cabin! Olvin and Ryan were super helpful and took care of everything for us. The canyoning looked amazing, I hope we can come back and do that someday. The food was delicious I highly recommend this place for everything from a romantic get-away to a relaxing stay during your jungle adventures!!